Street Leagues 2003


The finals of the College Corinthians Street Leagues is always the highlight of the club season in Corinthians.  This years finals were held on Sunday June 8th and blessed with good weather, the day was a tremendous success and a real family occasion as parents, brothers and sisters took advantage of the fine weather to enjoy the action.

This years Street League started in early April and catered for six different age groups from under 6 to under 11. Some 400 schoolboys and girls took part in this years league which were run on Saturday mornings during the clubs weekly underage coaching sessions.  The finals day itself featured seventeen individual finals as well as penalty competitions and of course the obligatory lunch bag which plays a vital role in keeping all our young stars in top form throughout a stamina stopping day.  And so to action and what a treat was in store for the huge attendance with some fabulous matches and some outstanding individual performance.  However, there is only one place to start and that is with the under six's.

Under 6

This year for the first time ever Corinthians taking into account that youngsters are now playing organised sport at an earlier age ran an under six league.  The six teams involved provided some fantastic entertainment with Arsenal setting the pace throughout the league and Spurs leading the chosing pack.  However, league form went out the window in a thrilling final with Spurs turning over their north London rivals on a 3-2 scoreline.  Spurs hero's were captain Stephen Cronin, Eoin Buckley and Eoin O' Sullivan while Arsenal obviously suffering from the absence of ace captain Cian Devine had star players in Darragh Baldwin, Eoin O' Leary and Conor Carlson.  In the other under six finals, Leeds captained by Shane Daly defeated the David Corkery inspired Chelsea side 5-3  while in the playoff for 5th and 6th place.  Everton skippered by the outstanding Craig Donrellan proved too strong for Newcastle winning 6-4.

Under 7


The under seven league proved no less exciting with eight very talented teams fighting hard for ultimate honours.  Eventually it was Valencia managed by the inspirational Donal O' Leary and captained by Aaron Baldwin who prevailed taking the decider 2-0 against the Sean Walsh led Juventus.  Cian Murphy, Brian Lane and Jordan Kavanagh did superbly for Juventus while Ryan O' Brien, Sean Mahony and Brian O' Leary did well for Valencia.  Inter Milan captained by Stephen Beale took third place defeating the Brendan Couch captained Man Utd. 4-0.  Ajax with captain Michael Murphy in great form proved too strong for Colin Sheehan's AC Milan and finally Real Madrid  under the inspirational captaincy of Gus Lewis defeated Shane McCauliffes Barcelona.

Under 8

In a very tight under eight final Basel with Tomas Glavin, Darragh Buckley and Paul Higginbottom outstanding raced into a 2-0 lead but a very game Feyrnard side would not give up without a fight and with James O' Shea, Peter O' Brien and Stephen Corbett working hard, they reduced the deficit to 2-1 with five minutes remaining but in a thrilling finish, they could not force an equaliser.  Beneficia got the better of Spartak moscow in a penalty shoot out to take third place with Ian Tobin sparkling for Beneficia and finally Harry McCarthy led Dynamo Kiev to victory over Sporting Lisbon in the bottle for 5th and 6th place.

Under 9

It was Glasgow Celtic who took the honours in the Under 9 grade, powered by excellent displays from David Barry, Luke O' Sullivan and Billy Davis "broken hand and all" they proved too strong for the Dylan Cruise O' Shea led Liverpool winning 5-2 with Billy Davis scoring four.  Long time league leaders Departivo had to settle for third place following their 3-1 victory over Bayern Munich.  Captain Paul Beale and Brian Cuthbert did well for Departivo.  Peter Hurly and John Lyons impressed for Bayern Munich.  Borussia Dortmund proved too strong for Lazio in the playoff for 5th & 6th place.

Under 10/11

The under ten/eleven age group was very popular this year with the eight teams involved throwing up a very competitive league.  Paris St Germain took on Auxerre in the main final and after a very exciting contest it was Paris St Germain who emerged victorious on a 2-0 scoreline.  Aidan Reynolds, Robert Lyons and Stephen McGivern did well for PSG while Colin Moloney, Gary Perrott and David Hanrahan were the stars for Auxerre Olympiekos, PSV and Red Star Belgrade were the other winners in the 10's and 11's league.

Penalty Competition

The penalty competition always provide great fun and entertainment and this years standard was exceptionally high.  The first, second and third in the various age groups were as follows

Age Group                  1st                                    2nd                                                 3rd                                 

6                                  Paul Barry                    Cian Davis                                David Corkery

7                                  Shane McAuliffe           Sean O' Mahony                      Robert O' Halloran

8                                  Gavin Murphy              Ian Tobin                                  Jammie McCarthy

9                                  Eoghan Murphy            James Tyner                         Dylan Cruise-O' Shea

10 & 11                       Alan Murphy                Kieran Gleeson                    Paul Murphy                



Pat Dolan & Greg O' Halloran

Finally to cap a great day, Cork City Manager Pat Dolan and Cork City Captain Greg O' Halloran came along to give a hand with the presentation.  They stood for numerous photographs and had an encouraging word for everyone.  Thanks a million lads, your presence was very much appreciated.


  • cab.jpg

  • cab.jpg

  • cab.jpg

  • cab.jpg

  • seefineng

  • southcounty.jpg

  • soundstore.jpg