Street League Finals 2008

Street League Finals Day 2008

The finals of this years summer street leagues took place on Sunday June 15th. This year's leagues catered for thirty eight teams and over three hundred boys and girls between the ages of five and eleven. The clubs grounds were in great condition on a beautiful summer's morning as crowds gathered to watch the day's events.

As usual the action on the finals day was non stop with the nineteen finals providing some thrilling team and individual performances. As well as the finals we also had the ever popular penalty compitions for each age group providing some fabulous entertainment.

Off the field it was equally as hectic with the ladies committee organising refreshments in the marquee as well as the supporting ice-cream and candy floss vans etc. It was lovely to see some families taking advantage of the summer weather and bringing along their picnic baskets and creating a warm family atmosphere around the grounds.

Under 6

The under Six league always provides great entertainment and this years competition was of a very high standard. The four individual finals were thrillers with two of the games decided by a penalty shout out.

Chelsea were victorious in the main final getting the better of Man Utd., Scott Philpott, Michael Nason, Niall Hartnett and Jack Anthony were the stars for Chelsea while James Walsh, Jack O'Grady and Matthew Healy were in superb form for Man Utd. The other three finals could have gone either way but Glasgow Celtic with Robbie Shalloe and Conor Murphy outstanding got the better of the Mark Hill, Adam Idah and Luke Buckley inspired Cork City side. Arsenal with Daniel Harte, Luke Healy and Luke O'Brien to the fore squeezed past Liverpool who had excellent players in Brian Hayes , Darren Hayes and Conor Mc Grath and finally Everton with Joseph Harte, Darren Finn and Scott Geaney outstanding proved just too strong for Spurs who had Rory Moriorty, David Murphy and Andrew Dupuis in great form.

Under 7

The under Seven league was no less exciting and threw up a really tense final between Olympiakos and Deportivo. Deportivo with Conor Russel, Brian Freeman and Andrew Kennedy doing well took the game to Olympiakos for long period but Olympiakos with Odhran Murphy superb at the back and Colin O'Mahony and Robert St. Ledger always lively in midfield were to prove the stronger side  taking the John O' Kelly Memorial cup on a 1-0 score line.

In the play off for third and fourth place, Valencia with Adam Coleman, Jordon Kelleher and Shannon Wynne excelling defeated a very game Roma who had Alan Kelleher, Gerard O' Mahony and Harvey Cummins in great form. The third under Seven final was won by Red Star who won a ten goal thriller against Inter Milan the final  ending  6-4 in favour of Red Star. Cillian Martin, Jayes Kabia, Nathan O'Donnell and Kieran O'Leary did well for Red Star while Shane Twomey, Jack O'Sullivan and David Harrington were the pick of Inter Milan side

Under 8

The under Eight Final featured Sporting Lisbon who had dominated the league stages of the under eight competition and AC Milan and as so often happens it was Milan who took the honours in an exciting final defeating Sporting Lisbon 3-1. For Milan David Nason and Brian Turnbull were excellent at the back, Cian Baldwin was clever in mid field and Rory Murphy always dangerous up front . For Sporting Brian Hill was the star of the show with great support from Niall Porter and Cillian Desmond.

The playoff for third place saw Dynamo Kiev in outstanding form as they overpowered Benfica. David Harrington, Dylan Ward, Matthew Mc Cauliffe and David Sullivan did well for Kiev while a very enthusiastic Benfica side were well served by Ethan Hurley, Christian Begley and Alex Chandler. The third final was a thriller with Real Madrid outscoring Spartak Moscow 8-6, Mark Brosnon, Conor Shalloe and Sean Grace were superb for Real Madrid with Ciaran Couch, Brian Hartnett and Cian O'Brien turning in five star performances for Spartak.

Under 9

The under Nine final between Aston Villa and Man City was a very exciting one with the game swinging from end to end throughout. However it was Aston Villa who prevailed taking the title on a 3-2 score line. David Dalton, Cian Barry and Stephen Jermyn did well for Villa and Ross Welch, David Lynch and Brian Hallisey played well for Man City.

In the playoff for third place, Sunderland got the better of a hard wording Reading  side, Harry Shanahan, Sean Desmond and Mark Donlon were the pick of the Sunderland side, Stephen O'Sullivan, Colin O'Brien and Jacob Buckley starred for Reading. Newcastle were irrepressible as they defeated West Ham comfortably to take the Bowl, Sean Canny, Gavin Holland and Tomas Cregan for Newcastle and Patrick Lee, Cillian  Moriarty and Fergal Hennessy did well for West Ham.

Under 10

Boca Juniors took on FC. Porto in the under Ten Street League Final, this was a very tight affair with defences dominant throughout and it took penalties eventually to separate two evenly matched teams with FC. Porto taking the title. Eoin O'Leary,  Fintan Ward and Sean Powter were in great form for FC. Porto while Gary Kelleher , and Gerard O'Connell did well for the winners.

Torpedo Moscow with Cal Sheedy, Matthew O'Mahony and Patrick Murphy outstanding clinched third place when they got the better of Grasshoppers who had Adam Brocks, Conor Kiernan and Michael O' Halloran in great form. Finally in the Bowl Final, Zenth St. Petersburg had too much firepower for LA Galaxy, Ian O'Shea , Brian Barry and Shane Donnegan tried hardest for LA Galaxy .


Members of our under 14 double winning team Josh Kra, Jack Wilkins and Dylan Cruise O Shea and our under 15 cup wining side Luke Connolly, Alan Cronin, James Furlong, David O'Donovan and Kevin O'Conor came along to assist with the presentation, the lads had earlier helped refereeing some of the finals .

Special Thanks

As Chairman Brian O ‘ Conor said on the day, there are numerous people to thank for the work that has gone on during the year and in preparation for the finals day. Top of the list has to be the Ladies Committee chaired by Marie Cruise O Shea who ran the finals day and looked after the club shop throughout the season. Thanks also to the club members who came up and helped with the various activities during the day. Finally thanks to the Coaches who gave there time throughout the year.

Season 08/09

Under age coaching will resume again on the weekend of August 23rd . Individual age group training times will be published on the website.

Penalty Wwinners!!


Under 12 Girls

1ST Megan Conolly

2nd Kate Fitzpatrick

3rd Taylor Kruschel




Under 6

1st   Darren Hayes

2nd  Jack O' Grady

3rd  Adam Idah


Under 7

1st    Jayes Kabia

2nd  Eoin O'Mahony

3rd   Alan Coleman


Under 8

1st  Ciaran Couch

2nd  James O'Donovan

3rd  Cian Baldwin


Under 9

1st  Sam Mealy

2nd  Harry Shanahan

3rd   Gavin Holland


Under 10

1st    Luke Hounjan

2nd   Conor Keirnan

3rd   Matt O' Mahony


  • cab.jpg

  • cab.jpg

  • cab.jpg

  • cab.jpg

  • seefineng

  • southcounty.jpg

  • soundstore.jpg