Adam Idah makes his international debut

Corinthians Adam Idah was a threat all through as Urekand Under 15's were unlucky to lose out 2-1 to Poland, see full report

On a crisp night in Co Louth both sides produced impressive performances and the Irish were certainly unlucky not to get at least a share of the spoils. Ireland went ahead in the 12th minute when Sean Brennan turned home a low cross from livewire wide-man Callum Thompson.

Four minutes later Kacper Nowak forced a save from Irish keeper Kian Clarke but unfortunately for the home side they conceded an equaliser in the 19th minute when Oskar Nowak found the net with a shot from distance Five minutes into the second half Oskar Nowak smashed a shot off the Irish crossbar and the home side then launched a counter which saw the dynamic Thompson shoot just over after bursting forward from inside his own half.

In the 51st minute the Poles extended their lead after a low corner was fired in and Paweł Żuk smashed home from ten yards out. Thompson was unfortunate not to level in the 62nd minute when he drove in from the left and drilled in a low right footed effort which keeper Piotr Zalewski got down well to save.

Adam Idah headed just over from a Marc Walsh cross two minutes later then in the 66th minute Kameron Ledwidge found the head of Barry Coffey but his effort was a matter of inches wide. Zalewski made another save to deny Walsh 60 seconds later then another powerful Thompson run saw him burst down the right and cross for Idah to thump a header off the crossbar. Irish keeper Clarke showed his class to keep out a long range effort from Bartosz Marchewka in the 83rd minute then two minutes into injury-time Sean Mahon sent Idah through but once again Zalewski got out well to save.

The sides will meet again on Thursday afternoon at the same venue.

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND: Kian Clarke, Jamin Nwanze, Jason Knight, Ray O'Sullivan, Nathan Collins, Kameron Ledwidge, Sean Brennan, Barry Coffey, Callum Thompson, Adam Idah, Caelin Rooney. Subs: Marc Walsh for Rooney 40 mins; Sean Mahon for Coffey 74.

POLAND: Piotr Zalewski, Karol Smajdor, Marcin Wiśniewski, Maciej Marek, Wiktor Pleśnierowicz, Michał Karbownik, Oskar Nowak, Paweł Żuk, Maciej Rosołek, Kacper Nowak, Konrad Matuszewski. Subs: Bartosz Marchewka for K Nowak 40; Krystian Espersen for Rosołek 59; Łukasz Łakomy for Karbownik 63.



  • cab.jpg

  • cab.jpg

  • cab.jpg

  • cab.jpg

  • seefineng

  • southcounty.jpg

  • soundstore.jpg