Memories from a previous National Cup Final between Corinthian Boys & St. Joseph Boys

May 2006

Under  11 National Cup Final

St. Joseph Boys 2  Corinthian Boys  1

The final was played in Home Farm’s grounds in Whitehall and a very talented Corinthians side were a little unfortunate to lose out on the day. The squad which was managed by Mike Tobin and Peter Cannon had won the Under 11 Premier League title in the CSL  and were hopeful on the day that they could bring the National Cup back to Corinthians.

In the end they were undone by a very slow start, which saw Corinthians conceding two goals in the first five minutes. Despite these major setbacks, they battled back well and Brian Lenihan reduced the deficit just before half time when he headed home an Ian Tobin corner.

Corinthians dominated much of the second period with Conor Cannon and Eoghan O’ Connell showing up well but the equalizer would not come and with Brian Lenihan forced off with an ankle injury; St. Josephs held on to claim the National Cup

The Corinthians side on the day included many young players who have progressed to play at the highest level in various codes. Brian Lenihan played for the Irish International team at all levels up to under 21 before joining Hull City this season. Eoghan (Bonesy) O’ Connell who was actually under ten when playing in the final signed for Glasgow Celtic and has played for Ireland at under 17,  19 & 21 age levels . He has played a number of times for Celtic’s Premier League side and this year was named Celtic’s Academy player of the year. Conor Cannon also played with Ireland underage squads and has been a regular with the UCD League Of Ireland team for the last two years

Goalkeeper Michael Martin has played in goal with Corks Senior Footballer team this season as well as being a regular with the Cork Under 21 football team. Jamie Davis & Conor Horgan joined him in the Cork Under 21 squad. Stephen Murphy has been a regular with the Cork Under 21 hurling side. 

Corinthian Boys squad on the day was : Michael Martin, Adrian O’ Connell, Jamie Davis, Conor Horgan, Daragh Buckley, Ian Tobin, Gavin Murphy, Brian Lenihan (Capt), Conor Cannon, Eoghan O’ Connell, Stephen Murphy, Donal Kenneally, Paul Higginbottom, Patrick O’ Sullivan.

  • cab.jpg

  • cab.jpg

  • cab.jpg

  • cab.jpg

  • seefineng

  • southcounty.jpg

  • soundstore.jpg