Under 14s Win Premier League Title

U14P CSL Champs 2015 - Team1


U14 Premier
Corinthian Boys 2­ Carrigaline 1

With everything on the line in their final league match the U14 Premier team claimed their 3rd league title in a row by beating a valiant Carrigaline team missing many of its regulars. In difficult wet and windy conditions with some of their closest rivals anxiously watching proceedings, Corinthians started as expected, controlling possession and dominating the game, however finding the net was proving difficult. Then very much against the run of play on 12 minutes a breakdown in communication led to a deflected goal for Carrigaline.

This certainly made the atmosphere more challenging but the lads responded as only they can, led by the magnificent Jeff Holden in midfield, Carrigaline did not get a look in with attacking football and plenty of shots which unfortunately missed the target, they exerted pressure on the Carrigaline defence. FInally in the 25th minute a shot from 20 yards by Adam Idah beat the keeper to the corner of the net.

The second half saw Carrigaline come into the game but Corinthians weathered the storm with Jeff Holden and Conor Murphy breaking up play in midfield, they continued to press forward. The pressure told after a shot from the right was spilled by the Keeper, Adam Idah was on hand to score his second and the decisive league winning goal. The remaining 20 minutes where tense as a third goal was not forthcoming but the lads held out to win the league.

This has been their hardest league win to date, despite going through the league unbeaten. The players and Management would like to acknowledge all the help and support they have received from Parents and the club during the season which has made this win possible. We would also like to thank all the players and coaches from other Corinthians teams who turned up on Sunday to support the team.

The team now turn their attention to a very difficult away Local Cup semi final against Greenwood on Thursday night at 7pm in Coffeys Field.

Squad: R. Lombard, S. Dunlea, L. Barron, J.McFall, S.Philpott, C.Murphy, D.Fox, J.Holden, A.Idah, F, Molloy, R.Dinanga, O.O’Keeffe, L.Edwards, M.Hill, K.McGowan, D.Murphy 




  • cab.jpg

  • cab.jpg

  • cab.jpg

  • cab.jpg

  • seefineng

  • southcounty.jpg

  • soundstore.jpg